Week 5 Post

This week, I explored a website called Symbaloo as well the website of a professional organization I thoroughly enjoy, Food and Wine. While I wasn’t personally a fan of the look of Symbaloo, as I perused, the idea of being able to organize websites on one page began to grow on me. I find myself staring at the thirty tabs I have open on my web browser constantly and watch it start to completely turn my computer into a turtle. Symbaloo seems like it would be a great way for me to organize all of the tabs I have open into one tab, on one website. While it may be of different use for someone else, organizing tabs is definitely what I would use it for.

Food and Wine, a website I leaf through often to find mouthwatering recipes and learn about cuisine around the world, proved to use a plethora of other social media websites. Food and Wine utilizes Twitter, Instagram, Facebook, Pinterest, and Snapchat to further reach out to their audience. While it does not seem that they reply to many tweets directed at them on Twitter, they do, however, have an Instagram called FWx that is geared to followers who want to share their love for food. FWx gives Instagrammers the opportunity to have their food photos shared with FWx’s followers by tagging their photos with #fwx. FWx will then feature posts from others (tagged with #fwx) and repost their food photos. This is a great way for Food and Wine to connect with its audience and create an even more personal connection.

While on Food and Wine’s website, I did some social media searching on the Digital Director of Food and Wine Digital, Alexandra Vallis, as well as the Senior Editor of Food and Wine Digital, Lawrence Marcus. I found that both individuals had Twitter accounts but surprisingly did not hold a substantial number of followers. Marcus had just over 400 followers and Vallis had just under 3,000. This completely surprised me what with their high-ranking at Food and Wine. I found that while Marcus does tweet a few culinary-related tweets, most of his tweets are personal-based. Vallis, on the other hand, retweets many tweets put out by Food and Wine’s Twitter account. I wasn’t really smitten with either of the two’s Twitter accounts. None of their tweets were anything too personal so I feel as if I did not get a solid sense of their personalities.

All in all, I found that Food and Wine’s website itself reaches out to many branches of social media thus connecting to even more followers. I would definitely like to accomplish having so many extra branches of social media attached to a blog I may create in the future. It definitely brings a greater publicity to the company and generates a wider audience.

 

Leave a Reply

